About Learning In Retirement

ALERTS: 

LIR will be closed beginning Monday, March 16 through April 17 and resume classes on Monday, April 20th.  We will evaluate the situation at that time.  

Please check back for more information on April 17th.

__________________________________________________

The following classes have been rescheduled:

Monday, March 16 - AM-#104 American Vistas:  The Hudson River To Uncharted Territories. - Robin Hoffman – to Monday May 4, 10 a.m.

Tuesday, March 17 - AM –#206 An Important Topic  – Dr. Kevin Buterbaugh -to Tuesday, May 19, 10:00 a.m.

Tuesday, March 17 - PM –#207 The Beatles: In My Life - Dr. Brian Torff – to Tuesday, May 12, 1:00 p.m.

Wednesday, March 18 - AM – #306 An Important Topic ENCORE – Dr. Kevin Buterbaugh – to Wednesday, May 20, 10:00 a.m.

Friday, March 20-AM -#505 The Rise Of The Virtuoso - Gil Harel to Tuesday, June 2, 10:00 a.m. (NB different day of the week)

Wednesday, March 24 - AM – #307 Understanding Indonesia: The World’s Fourth Largest Country- Wayne Forrest to Wednesday, May 13, 10:00 a.m.

Thursday, March 26 - AM – #403 Anatolian Turkey - Robert Henrey to Wednesday, May 6, 10:00 a.m (NB different day of the week)

Friday, March 27- AM – #506 What's Jewish about Jewish Music?- Cantor Jill Abramson to Friday, June 5, 10:00 a.m.

Monday, March 30 -AM –#106 Changing Perceptions of Tosca - Dr. Daniel Egan - to Wednesday, May 27, 1:00 p.m.

Tuesday, March 31- PM - #208 The History And Evolution Of Money – Dr. Mark LeClair to Thursday, May 28, 10:00 a.m. (NB different day of the week and time)

Friday, April 3 - AM #507 Elections 2020 and the State of American Politics - Dr. Susan Herbst to Wednesday, June 10, 1:00 p.m. (NB different day of the week and time)

_____________________________________________________

The following class have been cancelled:

Monday, March 23 - AM –#105 The World Of Digital Media – Alice Knapp

Monday, April 6 PM #107 Japan: Possible Futures- Dr Alexis Dudden

posted 3/19/2020

LEARNING IN RETIREMENT, INC. is a nonprofit organization for continuing education of retired people and senior citizens.  LIR is completely independent and not associated with any other educational organization or denomination.  Classes are held in the Temple Beth El building on Roxbury Road in Stamford, CT.


Course Offerings

LIR presents classroom-style discussions on a wide range of topics, including history, arts, economics, science, religion and current events.  Each course is typically one or two 2-hour classes, although some are more.  Additionally, there are occasional field trips to places of exceptional educational value.  The complete offerings for this semester are provided in the current catalog.

The catalog has been revised  posted 3/17/20

CLICK HERE for Current Catalog

Closings: Field Trip PepsiCo  #405 is closed to further registrations

Registration

We have temporarily closed all our classes to further registration.  We will reopen online registration when classes resume.

posted 3/19/2020

(Note: If you register for a large number of classes, you may find a 60+ second delay between submitting your request and system response.  Don't worry, just wait!  It can take some time.)